Just Say “Yes”

12631372_942898669113198_7002920184596081353_n.jpg

January 2016 was insane!  I can not wrap my mind around that happened last month and how dramatically my life has changed in just a month.

On January 24th I said “yes” to spending the rest of my life with my very best friend, Blake. Even though we have talked about marriage recently I had no idea it would happen this soon, nor how incredible my proposal would be.  I don’t know how I got so lucky, but I thank God everyday for the sweet man who will soon be my husband.

It’s crazy how the word “yes” has changed my life.  It has sparked a lot of questions, not about my decision to marry, but about my hesitance to say “yes” to a lot of other things. In a matter of seconds I agreed to spend the rest of my life with another human being.  I didn’t ask questions, I didn’t list the pros and cons of this decision, I didn’t check my bank account, I didn’t look for excuses…I simply said “yes”.  The end.  Why was it so easy to say yes to an equally imperfect person, but so hard to say yes to a perfect God.

What is God asking us to do today?  Are we asking too many questions or looking for excuses when all we really need to do is just say “yes”.

Marriage will come with it’s trials, everything won’t come easy.  It’s going to take a lot of hard work from both of us on a daily basis.  What if I didn’t say yes because I knew it wouldn’t be easy?  Imagine the life I would miss out on, the love, the joy and memories…all because of fear or uncertainty.

Saying yes to God won’t always be easy either. You may have some great days, but you may also have some really terrible days.  But in the end when you look back on your life, imagine seeing where those days had brought you.

God is knocking on our heart asking, “Will you follow me?” All it takes is a “Yes”.  Will we say yes no matter the cost?

Do we have what it to takes to just say “yes”?  To set our questions aside, to push past fear into the life God has for us no matter the cost.  Will you say “Yes”? Following God will always be the best yes, no journey in this world will equal the reward of choosing God.

He loves you so much and has so many great plans for you.  All it takes is one answer.

“Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

 

With Love,

2 thoughts on “Just Say “Yes”

Leave a comment