Grace: The Defining Point

Grace (grās)

1. The exercise of love, kindness, mercy, favor; disposition to benefit or serve another; favor bestowed or privilege conferred.

To bow and sue for grace
With suppliant knee.

2. (Theol.) The divine favor toward man; the mercy of God, as distinguished from His justice; also, any benefits His mercy imparts; divine love or pardon; a state of acceptance with God; enjoyment of the divine favor.

    I spent my whole life growing up in churches where no matter what I did I was barely hanging onto the Soul Train, destination: Heaven.  I was taught that I was a terrible person who had to earn my way into heaven and if by the mercy of God I reached the end maybe just maybe my donation to the building fund would get me a “Well done, my good and faithful servant.”  But if not, I had the fiery chasms of hell to look forward to.  So for years my view of church became my view of Christ.  This became a problem, because if this was the case then God cared more about buildings than the people in them.  And my attendance to a church was more important than my relationship with God.  It was a social club, not a sanctuary.  As you can see this led to a lot of confusion about God and what it meant to actually know Him.  I never felt like I added up, because no matter what I failed every time.  My focus was on me, not HIM.
      But in January of 2014 I had an enlightenment of sorts, God had me in the right place at the right time I guess.  I don’t remember how or when but I do know that at some point, it just clicked.  Maybe the angels sang, maybe there were fireworks….I don’t know, but what I do know was that suddenly Christianity made sense.  And thus began my journey of Grace, the defining point of my faith.  I didn’t die on that cross, Jesus did, and at that moment His blood washed away everything I had done, and will ever do.  There was nothing to earn…it is finished!  Once you wrap your mind around the fact that it’s free, no strings attached that’s when you see that it’s never been about me, it has always been about Him.  And when I took my eyes off myself and gazed into the eyes of my Savior that’s when change began to happen in my heart.  No amount of good works, donations, or attendance can ever repay Him. Every human has 2 choices, 1.) We can pay for our own sins, where the cost is our soul (Romans 6:23)  or 2.) We can accept that Jesus’ already paid the price and the cost is our heart.   Woah! This still blows my mind, and honestly I hope that it always does.  I hope that I never take this precious gift for granted.  This was the defining point for me, Christianity is no longer a matter of “do this” and “don’t do that”, because the only thing that matters is Jesus.
     Wait, but what about Sin?  This seems to be that part that most people get confused.  Does Grace mean that we can do whatever we want?  Absolutely not!  We are called to be righteous, and the closer we get to Jesus the further we get from sin.  When I try in my own power not to sin, I take my eyes off of Jesus and by doing that I make myself vulnerable to attacks of the enemy.  Just like in human relationships, if you love someone with all your heart, are you going to cheat on them?  No, because you don’t want anyone else, you love them!  You will do whatever it takes to make that relationship work.  That’s the way our relationship needs to be with God.  The more in love we are with Him the more we invest in that relationship and the less we worry about the other things competing for our affection.  Does this kind of change happen over night?  No, but happy marriages don’t happen over night either, all good things take time.  So fall in love with God and He’ll meet you in that secret place and your life will be changed.
      I don’t know where you are on your journey, but I hope that maybe my defining point will help you on your journey.  It took me about 15 years to understand Grace and I’m still learning everyday.  Just know that you’re on this journey for a reason and God’s on that journey with you.  He has already paid your bill, all you have to do is accept it.  I doesn’t matter where you’ve been or what you’ve done, because there is nothing that He loves more than you.  So I pray that you take that first step, and I pray that you find your defining point.  You’ve got nothing to lose but everything to gain!

{God saved you by His grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God.  Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it. – Ephesians 2:8-9}

3 thoughts on “Grace: The Defining Point

  1. Pingback: Happy 1st Birthday “Coffee Breaks With Jesus”! | coffee breaks with jesus

Leave a Reply

